top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedandantravels

A Few Hints/Pointers


4/29/2019


Just some more tips I learned/picked up after the semester started.


This is the card I use

1. If you have a credit card that has no foreign transaction fees, make use of it. I exchanged about $550 worth in won at Myeongdong and was discounted $15 in my exchange, but since majority of Korean shops take card, it would be Korea ideal for you to just pay in card. It will also help in keeping track of finances since you can download an excel file of all your purchases.



2. Get your ARC. Considering I was going to travel outside Korea anyways, I found a loophole that saved me ₩40,000 and allowed me to not get the ARC simply by leaving the country and coming back to reset the visa. It’s a win-win, but you miss out on some small stuff. For example, if you have your ARC, you could probably find a cheaper phone plan for around ₩19,000 (I pay ₩33,000 for the on-campus provider). It’s just opportunity cost you have to consider.



3. Korea is cold, don’t under-pack like I did. I brought a few t-shirts and 2 “jackets,” but I wish I brought a few hoodies with me.



4. If you plan to take back a few souvenirs, it is important that you read beforehand about the country’s custom laws. Read about it here...


5. Lastly, depending on which school you attend, you need to prepare yourself by realizing Korea’s students do have somewhat of an academic inclination and embrace a studious culture. Because of their university entrance exams, they’re extremely proficient at memorization and test taking. I can’t speak for all of USA, but in context for Business majors, the US seems to be more focused on internships to gain experience in preparation for a job after school. This could be the case for Korean students as well, but it seems to me like they focus on academics and textbook much more as a priority. Just FYI, Korean Universities rarely allow cheat sheets.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page